dscf0067.JPG

I decided to go back to studying late last year, and it was/still is one of the best things that I’ve done in a long long time. The Certified Financial Planner (CFP) course was an obvious choice as it was something recognized and also, a way for me to learn how to manage my finances better. I figured that when I work so hard to earn a living, I want the money that I earn to work even harder so that I can get cross that Financial Freedom line quicker.

When I enrolled in the Challenge Module (Module 6) in KDU Management Development Centre (KMDC), I really didn’t really know what to expect. I was fortunate in that as a member of the Malaysian Institute of Accountants, I was able to jump straight into module 6 instead of going through Modules 1 to 6 like everyone else. However, it had been well over 10 years since I last had to sit for exams. Working Mondays to Fridays and then sacrificing my weekends to attend lectures and to study was definitely going to be a “challenge” (how apt a name). 🙂

Luckily the classes were so informative, practical and totally engaging that I felt immediately glad that I’d decided to go for it. My only regret was: why didn’t I do this earlier?

The areas covered include insurance planning and risk management, cashflow and debt management, tax planning, investment planning, retirement planning, estate planning.  Finally we were taught how to put it all together in a financial plan.

Amazing what just 10 months can do to change you life!

