Paris 

How time has flown. I checked TOHTMYM today and realized it’s been 2 months since my last post!! But where did November go? And now even December is finishing quicker than I can say “ratatouille”!

Speaking of Ratatouille, I was just in Paris (yes as in Paris, France) last week for a work visit.

It’s my 3rd visit and I gotta tell you guys…this is still undoubtedly one of the most gorgeous cities in the world. It was freezing cold, of course…we’re talking a high of 1 degree celcius. And when it rained…..brrrrrrrrrrr! But the xmas lights along the big department stores along Boulevard Haussmann, the Champs Elysees (Bukit Bintang is our equivalent I suppose) and of course the “magnifique” Eiffel Tower all lit up in bright yellow lights made it all worthwhile, I must say. So it was a very productive trip…..and I even got to meet an old friend, as you can see from the pic above.

So in November 2006 I was in Shanghai, and this year Paris….not bad for a little old IPTV manager innit? What’s IPTV you say? Well, that’s internet protocol television….a very interesting (and very cool) technology that allows you to deliver TV content to your TV sets at home over broadband. But that’s for another Blogsite in itself 🙂

I did plan to write something for you guys in November…my 2007 installment of the best performing mutual funds in the market. The research was done and all….but clearly, that never quite happened. So we’ll see over the next week, whether I can get my act together. And I have definitely been reading your responses to my posts…thank you…and some of you have even written to my email directly to ask for info. Unfortunately, I’ve just been swamped. So, I guess definitely one of my key New Year’s resolutions will have to be…..WORK-LIFE balance. How to enjoy life otherwise??! No time to enjoy the fruits of our investments also no good. If anyone out there has tips (on how not to be a workaholic!!)….feel free to give me a shout. This seems to be a particular weakness of mine, whatever job I may be in….it’s a disease!! Must have caught it from my days in Singapore!!! 🙂 I’ve been more back in Malaysia more than 10 years….you’d think I would be cured by now.

It’s been quite a travel-filled year end actually. Before Paris, I was in Singapore (speaking of Singapore, again!) and got to hang out one night at the Night and Day Bar and Gallery along Selegie Road. Managed and owned by a couple of architect-entrepreneurs I used to know back when I was living in the City of Roar, it’s a “chill” place  housed in an art-deco building —- warm, stylish but exuding a grand air.

You should definitely pay it a visit if you’re looking for a nice place to hang out and chat with your friends next time you’re in the land of Phua Chu Kang. And there over some red wine and smokes, interesting conversations flowed between some architects, a DJ and someone who just enjoys good design and good music (c’est moi!) about the art of designing and the art of DJ-ing. Now THAT is definitely food for the soul….something I’ve definitely been deprived of for a while!! If anyone out there knows a place like this in KL, I beg you…..please share!! 🙂

In the next week or so, I shall be attempting to see the year out quietly…hopefully seeing a few more friends and having some good quality conversations. Wish you the same…have a good Hari Raya Haji, Xmas and New Year….and please take care whilst on the roads.

